Next Generation Science Standards

In October 2013, Washington joined 26 other states in adopting a more rigorous science learning experience for students by developing the Next Generation Science Standards. These standards set expectations for what Kindergarten through high school students should know by the end of every grade level in the four domains of science:
  • physical science
  • life science
  • earth and space science
  • engineering, technology and science application

Once again, the focus is to prepare students and help them be college and career ready. Our students are now competing on an international level, so increasing rigor will help them be better prepared for their career.