

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Oct. 27, 2017

Gary Sabol 360-618-6217

Arlington School Board named Board of Distinction for the first time

ARLINGTON- The Arlington Public Schools Board of Directors has been named a Board of Distinction by the Washington State School Directors' Association (WSSDA). This is the first time the Arlington School Board has earned this distinction and will be recognized during the WSSDA Annual Conference next month. The Arlington School Board is also in contention to win School Board of the Year.

Of the 295 school district boards in the state of Washington, Arlington was one of 22 boards to earn this honor for 2017. This award recognizes each board that shows evidence of applying the Washington School Board Standards. The standards encourage boards to focus on student achievement as their primary responsibility.

"As a board with a combined 76 years of service, we take the education of students and the governance of the school district very seriously," said Dr. Jeff Huleatt, Board President. "We are honored to receive the Board of Distinction award."

The Arlington School Board consists of Dr. Huleatt, Jim Weiss, Kay Duskin, Ursula Ghirardo and Bob McClure. High school student advisors include Mary Catherine Meno and Annika Hatfield.



The Arlington Public Schools Board of Directors (left to right): Jim Weiss; Dr. Jeff Huleatt; Kay Duskin; Ursula Ghirardo; and Bob McClure.