APS Board named Board of Distinction

Arlington School Board named Board of Distinction for the fourth year in a row
School BoardThe Arlington Public Schools Board of Directors has been named a Board of Distinction by the Washington State School Directors' Association (WSSDA) for the fourth year in a row. The board members were recognized on Nov. 18 during the WSSDA Annual Conference.

Of the 295 school district boards in the state of Washington, Arlington was one of 30 boards to earn this honor for 2022. This year, school directors were asked what decisions or actions the board took to close opportunity gaps.

“The Arlington School Board regularly analyzes disaggregated student data to identify opportunity gaps and needs,” said Dr. Chrys Sweeting, Superintendent. “Identifying and understanding the criteria, assessment tools, and methods used to measure student learning helps the Board to be informed and make better decisions and adjust resources to eliminate barriers and opportunity gaps.”

“Once our students returned to in-person learning last year, we found significant needs and support requirements for not only academic recovery but for social emotional and behavioral recovery as well,” said Mary Levesque, Board President. “The Board approved a partnership with Snohomish County to bring two Student Support Advocates (SSAs) into our schools. These SSAs were extremely valuable and continue now in the 2022-23 school year.”

The Arlington School Board consists of Mike Ray, Sheri Kelly, Michael Kingman, Mary Levesque, Erica Knapp and Dr. Chrys Sweeting. High school student advisors include Kyle Schroeder and Mariska Lebahn.