

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 9, 2023

Gary Sabol 360-618-6217

Community members, staff and students receive WASA Awards

EVERETT- Arlington community members, students and staff were recognized with Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA) Region 109 school district awards on April 27 at Sno-Isle TECH Skills Center in Everett and again at the Arlington School Board meeting on May 8.

Community Leadership Award

Brittany Kleinman and Jessica Ronhaar from Youth Dynamics received the WASA Community Leadership Award for their commitment in providing engaging and positive activities for Arlington students during early dismissal Friday afternoons.

District Student Achievement Leadership Award

Kari Henderson-Burke, Arlington Public Schools Executive Director of Teaching and Learning, received the WASA Student Achievement Leadership Award for Arlington Public Schools. Through her leadership, especially with the implementation of the Universal Design for Learning (UDL) approach districtwide, the district is increasing access and removing barriers to learning for each student.

Student Leadership Award

Arlington High School students Kathleen Azpiri and Josline Contajioso received the WASA Student Leadership Award. Both students serve on the district's Student Advisory Council and District Community Equity Team where they provide valuable student perspectives and leadership. They were also both involved with the Speak Up at School Program which teaches individuals how to respond to everyday prejudice, bias, stereotypes, and language that is hateful, hurtful, and/or discriminating.

"I would like to congratulate Britt, Jessica, Kari, Kathleen and Josline for their efforts for creating environments both in the classroom and the community where students can thrive," said Dr. Chrys Sweeting, Arlington Public Schools Superintendent. "These awards are well deserved."

###



Arlington community members, students and staff were recently recognized with Washington Association of School Administrators Region 109 school district awards. (Pictured left to right): Josline Contajioso, Brittany Kleinman, and Kari Henderson-Burke. (Not pictured: Jessica Ronhaar and Kathleen Azpiri)