

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Nov. 23, 2021

Gary Sabol 360-618-6217

Arlington School Board named Board of Distinction for the third year in a row

ARLINGTON- The Arlington Public Schools Board of Directors has been named a Board of Distinction by the Washington State School Directors' Association (WSSDA) for the third year in a row. The board members were recognized on Nov. 19 during the WSSDA Annual Conference.

Of the 295 school district boards in the state of Washington, Arlington was one of 34 boards to earn this honor for 2021. This year, school directors were asked to illustrate how their actions exemplified visionary leadership and helped their school districts close opportunity gaps.

"Last year when most students were learning at a distance, it was important for the board to make sure students had the technology tools to access their learning," said Dr. Chrys Sweeting, Superintendent. "Some of these tools included a Chromebook computer and a hotspot. These efforts align with the district's ongoing equity work to remove barriers and increase access to ensure each student has the opportunity to succeed."

"I am very proud of the board's efforts in closing opportunity gaps in the Arlington School District," said Judy Fay, Board President. "Not only did the district invest in technology tools for students, the district also provided free summer school for students so they could make up any lost credits without price being a barrier. We are continuing this free summer school program for students next year as well."

The Arlington School Board consists of Mike Ray, Sheri Kelly, Judy Fay, Mary Levesque, Marc Rosson and Dr. Chrys Sweeting. High school student advisors include Madeline Andrich and Kyle Schroeder.



2021-22 Board of Distinction



The Arlington Public Schools Board of Directors (left to right): Judy Fay, President; Mike Ray, Vice President; Marc Rosson, Legislative Representative; Mary Levesque, Director; Sheri Kelly, Director; Dr. Chrys Sweeting, Superintendent and Secretary to the Board; Madeline Andrich, Student Advisor to the Board; and Kyle Schroeder, Student Advisor to the Board.